Officers & Board of Directors

Volunteer Driven

The Foundation, the Broyhill Equestrian Preserve and the Blowing Rock Charity Horse Shows are the responsibility of a volunteer board of directors. While it takes over 30 paid staff to run the horse shows and a small seasonal staff to handle light maintenance, operate the long term boarding operation, along with the short term stall and camper leasing, the entire operation is conducted by volunteers. These directors see their duty as maintaining an historic equine facility and producing top quality competitions that will attract riders and spectators from across the country. Ultimately however, Foundation’s mission is about a commitment to support education and worthy charities by preserving and encouraging the grand traditions of horse sports in Blowing Rock. It is a mission that has been handed down for safekeeping by the pioneers of tourism in the Highlands and by the generations of those who enjoy Blowing Rock because of horse sports.


President – Burr Collier, Statesville, NC
Vice President – Lyn Buxton, Bluffton, SC
Treasurer – John Vann, Bluffton, SC
Secretary – Rebekah Warren, Atlanta, GA
Member at Large – Jim King, Charlotte, NC

Directors Emeritus

Caroline Clark, Charleston, SC

Show Managers

Rick Cram – Hunter & Jumper Shows
Susan Whittington – Saddlebred Show

Board of Directors

Sonny Abernethy, Lincolton, NC
Doug Beach, Lenoir, NC
Alice Brinkley, Taylorsville, NC
Jim Clabough, Blowing Rock, NC
Sherry Cooke, Charlotte, NC
Cathy Dow, Matthews, NC
Randi Edmiston, Charlotte, NC
Ashley Hodges, Greensboro, NC
Kim Howard, Concord, NC
Sally Kay, Charlotte, NC
Nancy Lowry, Charlotte, NC
Margaret Poovey, Winston-Salem, NC
Christy Powell, Palm Beach, FL
Susann Powers, Boone, NC
Neill Sites, Atlanta, GA
Judy Sutton, Maggie Valley, NC
Liz Tarumianz, Charlotte, NC
Zach Tate, Blowing Rock, NC
Beth Vann, Bluffton, SC
Stephanie Wallace, Nashville, TN
Douglas Wheeler, Charlottesville, VA
Rita Wiseman, Blowing Rock, NC